Alan Smith D’52 T’53 Visiting Executive Program

The Alan Smith D'52, T'53 Visiting Executive (VE) Program brings senior executives to the school to share their expertise in the classroom and meet with students and faculty. These visits give members of the Tuck community the chance to interact with business leaders from different sectors in a variety of settings. 

Students are encouraged to sign up for an opportunity to meet with these visitors during meals, group discussions, and one-on-one conversations. One of our second-year student coordinators serves as host for each executive, ensuring that the visit is enjoyable and rewarding.

Above: Professor Ellie Kyung; visiting executive Dawn Hudson D’79, chief marketing officer, The National Football League; student host Jen Tietz T’15; and Professor Peter Golder.

Spring 2015 Visitors

The VE program hosts a variety of visitors each term. Some of the visitors we look forward to hosting include:

  • Mark Hosbein T’90, Accenture, Managing Director
  • Kirsten Detrick T’92, Takeda Pharmaceuticals International, VP, Global Marketing
  • Bill Bean, Mattel, VP, Shopper Marketing
  • Ann Rubin, IBM, VP of Branded Content and Global Creative
  • John “Thad” Hill T’95, Calpine Corporation, Chief Operating Officer
  • Elyse Kane, Colgate-Palmolive, VP, Consumer Market Insights
  • Lars Albright T’05, SessionM, CEO
  • Brad Hu T’89, Citigroup, Inc., Chief Risk Officer
  • Tom Linebarger, Cummins, CEO

VE Program History

In 1970, Tuck instituted the Executive-in-Residence (EIR) Program under the direction of Paul Doscher D'66. Tuck’s Executive-in-Residence suite was built in 1983 with a generous gift by Jim Wells D'43, T'47 and his wife Jane. In 1995 Alan Smith D’52 T’53 (at left) began funding the VE Program on an annual basis. In 2002 the VE Program was endowed by Alan Smith D’52 T’53.

VE Program Staff

The VE Program is managed by Andy Steele T’79 (, executive director of Development and Alumni Services, and is coordinated by Cindy Falzarano (, who works closely with second-year student coordinators.